YAC members hold September meeting in Golden

New and old members of the Youth Advisory Committee gather.

  • Oct. 11, 2011 2:00 p.m.

Rachel Lucas


Columbia Basin Trust (CBT) welcomed six new members to its Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) this past weekend in Golden. YAC members are motivated and involved youth age 15-29 who provide advice on youth-related grants and events at CBT.

“Engagement and leadership are two key areas of CBT’s recently finalized 2011-2016 Youth Strategic Plan,” said Wayne Lundeberg, CBT, Director Youth Initiatives. “The YAC is an important means for CBT to engage with Basin youth and through their participation they are able to build their own skills as leaders.”

Prospective YAC members go through an application process and are selected to volunteer on the committee by the previous year’s committee members. The commitment to serve on the YAC is a minimum one-year term. This commitment involves a weekend meeting every two months and review of all Columbia Basin Youth Grant applications. This is a task unique to this CBT advisory committee and was specifically given to the group to further promote the active engagement of youth in regional decision-making processes.

“I am excited to be joining the YAC because it gives youth a voice,” said new Revelstoke member Taryn Walker. “I look forward to getting to know other youth in the Basin, learning new leadership skills, and making a difference in my community.”

“CBT’s YAC is a great opportunity to be an active member of your community,” said returning Golden member Zachary McClean. “It gives members the unique opportunity to provide input and affect change.” YAC members are also often asked to become involved in a number of CBT and community events and youth forums, to special projects and website moderating.

Welcome new members: Jaya Ducharme (Winlaw), Sierra Franklin (Canal Flats), Tessa Jackson (Nelson), Blake Nicol (Nelson), Jane Rolandi (Cranbrook) and, Taryn Walker (Revelstoke).  Returning members are: Laura Archer (Golden), Miranda de Groot (Cranbrook), Matt Fontes (Castlegar), Zeb Hansell (Fruitvale), Zachary McClean (Golden) and Kyler Perepolkin (South Slocan).

CBT works with youth and communities to increase youth opportunities and engagement through enhancing capacity, leadership and participation. CBT funds youth developed projects through the Community Directed Youth Funds (CDYF) and Columbia Basin Youth Grants (CBYG) programs and provides a forum for youth in the Columbia Basin to share their art, ideas and experiences with each other through SCRATCH magazine at www.scratchonline.ca.  October deadlines are approaching for CDYF and CBYG. Visit www.cbt.org/youth for more details.


Just Posted

Women’s Day is a reason to celebrate this year

International Women’s Day is celebrated across the world on March 8, but… Continue reading

Little Mittens expands service to include wildlife rescue

Little Mittens is expanding its rescue capacities to include mittens of all… Continue reading

Vehicle restrictions are in place in some backcountry areas to protect sensitive habitats

With spring on its way, residents and tourists alike might be thinking… Continue reading

Business profile: Golden Consignment

Lizard cages, fish tanks, appliances, tires, tools, instruments and more; Golden Consignment… Continue reading

Federal Gas Tax Fund provides full funding for dike improvements

The Town of Golden has received the largest single infrastructure based grant… Continue reading

Ottawa proposes restricted pot labels, packages

Packaging will include red stop sign with marijuana leaf and ‘THC’

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Janet Austin announced as B.C.’s new lieutenant governor

Austin has served as YWCA Metro Vancouver CEO since 2003

Ex-French president Sarkozy in custody on Gadhafi claims

Former French President Nicolas Sarkozy was placed in custody as part of an investigation that he received millions of euros in illegal financing

Hockey pioneer Kwong dies at 94

Vernon’s Larry Kwong was the first player to break NHL colour barrier in 1948

How Facebook likes could profile voters for manipulation

Facebook suspended Cambridge Analytica, a data-analysis firm worked for Trump’s 2016 campaign

Uber suspends self-driving car tests after fatality

A woman walking outside a crosswalk in Phoenix was killed when she was hit by a self-driving car

Police divers to resume river search for missing Montreal boy

Police divers and a helicopter search the shores of the Riviere des Prairies for missing 10-year old boy Ariel Jeffrey Kouakou

World’s last male northern white rhino dies

The world’s last male northern white rhino, Sudan, has died after “age-related complications”.

Most Read