College of the Rockies Board of Governors announces appointments

The College of the Rockies in Golden has a new board member

The Board of Governors of College of the Rockies (COTR) is pleased to announce the appointment of two new Board members.

Appointed to the College Board through Provincial Order in Council are Glen D. Campbell of Sparwood and A. Kenneth Hoeppner of Golden for terms ending December 31, 2014.

Mr. Hoeppner is Professor, Emeritus, and Associate Vice President Research, Emeritus, at Mount Royal University in Calgary where he has taught since 1987 starting in the English Department.  Previously, he taught at the University of Calgary, Medicine Hat College, and Mount Royal College.

Active in his community, Mr. Hoeppner served as President of the Golden and Area Community Economic Development Society, and as Co-Chair and Chair of the Golden and District Arts Council.  Mr. Hoeppner holds his Bachelor of Education from the University of Saskatchewan and his Master of Arts and Doctorate from the University of Calgary.

Mr. Campbell is the Manager of Human Resources for the coal business unit of Teck Resources Limited and Teck Coal Limited in Sparwood, BC.  Previously, he was the Superintendent of Employee Relations at the Fording River Mine in Elkford, BC and held the same position at the Line Creek Mine in Sparwood, both for Teck Resources.  Prior to this, he worked in various human resources positions for Teck at their smelter and refinery in Trail, BC and their Sullivan Mine in Kimberley, BC; and also with Skeena Cellulose Inc. in Prince Rupert, BC.

Mr. Campbell holds his Bachelor of Commerce in Industrial Relations and Human Resource Management from the University of British Columbia as well as a Certified Human Resource Professional designation.

Mr. Campbell and Mr. Hoeppner join previously appointed members Orest Federko (Board Chair), Richard Reinders (Vice-Chair), Rob Ondrik, Joe Pierre, David Handy, Doris Penner, Jim Abbott and Gloria Perry;  COTR elected faculty representative member Grant Unger; COTR elected support staff representative member Colin Martyniuk; elected student representative member David Wiebe and Katie Hamar; and Jim Bailey, COTR Education Council Chair.

“I’m pleased to welcome Glen and Ken to the College’s Board of Governors,” said COTR President and CEO Dr. Nick Rubidge.  “Their unique skills and experiences will serve the Board well and I look forward to working with them in the years ahead.”


Just Posted

New massage clinic in Golden

A new massage clinic opened in Golden to help ease those aches and pains.

Hockey commentator gets his start

Lukas Pfisterer is just 12-years-old, but already making his mark as a commentator.

New Glade ferry enters testing phase

The Glade II will be able to carry heavier loads and will emit less greenhouse gases.

Freezing rain warning in effect for B.C. Southern Interior

Environment Canada issued the freezing rain warning for most of the Southern Interior Tuesday morning

Smiles all around as province announces emergency ward funding

$2.1 million to go to much-needed upgrades

VIDEO: Orcas put on a show near Hornby Island

Louis Jobodin shares photos and video of his experience

Food industry failing at voluntary sodium reduction: Health Canada

Health Canada report shows the food industry made no meaningful progress in curtailing salt levels

UPDATE: Head on collision closes Trans-Canada west of Revelstoke

Two tractor-trailers collided on Highway 1 forcing the closure of the road, no detour is available

Best B.C. cities to live in: millennial edition

Other local municipalities score at bottom of list from real estate blog

Solitary confinement in Canadian prisons unconstitutional: B.C. Supreme Court

Associations argued that solitary confinement was inhuman

1 in 4 B.C. consumers unable to pay bills, debt repayment: poll

Since interest rates first rose in July, poll suggests households across B.C. have had to tighten budget

SOGI rally disrupts school board meeting, but business carries on

Chilliwack school board makes statement in support of B.C.-wide gender identity teaching resource

B.C. husband and wife honoured for saving each other’s lives

Couple presented with Vital Link Awards for quick use of CPR

154 remote B.C. communities to get high-speed internet

Government funding to bring subsea fiber optic cable to connect people on the coast

Most Read