Pictured from l-r: Dean McKerracher (Acting KERHD Chair) and John Kettle (KERHD Chair)

Kettle re-elected Hospital District Chair

John Kettle has been re-elected as Chair of the Kootenay East Regional Hospital District Board.

  • Tue Feb 7th, 2012 5:00am
  • News

Kootenay East Regional Hospital District


The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District Board has re-elected John Kettle as Chair for 2012.

This is Kettle’s fifth term as Chair and he says he is looking forward to another busy year for the Hospital District. “We have a diverse Board that works exceptionally well together. I am honoured to serve as Chair for another term. I look forward to continuing to work on behalf of the entire Hospital District and to continuing to strengthen our working relationship with Interior Health.”

Elkford Mayor Dean McKerracher has been elected as Acting Chair. “I appreciate the Board’s support in electing me. There are a number of items on our radar this year and I look forward to working with Chair Kettle and the Board as we work through the issues and achieve positive results.” This will be McKerracher’s first term as Acting Chair.

The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District provides up to 40 per cent capital funding for acute care facilities in the region for equipment and facility construction and renovation.  The Hospital District extends beyond the boundaries of the RDEK to include the Towns of Golden and Creston, and the portions of the Regional Districts of Central Kootenay and Columbia Shuswap surrounding those municipalities.  The elections took place during the Kootenay East Regional Hospital District Board meeting .